MAIN MENU
E-SERVICES
  Make Online Payments
  Search Property Tax Records
  TaxTrack
  Buy Unsold Tax Certificates
  Search Business Tax Records
  Search Our Web Site
  File Download Requests
  Send Us Email
  Telephone Access
  Dealers Section
  Ver página en Español
FOLLOW US!
Tax Collector RSS feed
FEATURED LINKS
  Polk's Constitutional Officers
  Polk County Government
  Polk's Courts
  Polk's Municipalities
  Polk's Public Schools
  Polk's Library Cooperative
  Polk County Historical Society
  Polk Vision
  FloridaTaxCollectors.com
  MyFlorida.com
  USA.gov

MOTOR VEHICLES
Page Navigator
Taxes
Initial Registration
Registration And Tag Renewal
Transfer Of Ownership On A Florida Title
Title Application On A New Mobile Home
Title Application On An Out-Of-State Mobile Home
MOBILE HOMES

Registrations, Renewals and Title Transfers

Taxes

Mobile homes must be registered with a current decal at all times, even when unoccupied. For mobile homes affixed to land that is rented, mobile home decals expire December 31st each year. The registration fee for mobile homes is based on the length of the mobile home. Doublewide or triplewide mobile homes require a separate registration for each unit. Failure to register each year will result in delinquent taxes.

If you currently have a regular mobile home decal and you also own the land upon which your mobile home is affixed, you are required to have a permanent Real Property (RP) decal. In such cases, the mobile home owner is required to obtain a Declaration of Real Property from the Property Appraiser’s Office. Next, the mobile home owner is to present their RP Declaration to the Tax Collector’s Office and purchase an RP decal for their mobile home. The cost of the RP decal is $8.35.

For more on the taxes that apply to mobile homes,
click here...

Back To Page Navigator



Initial Registration

Vehicle registrations for mobile homes may be obtained at one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

To receive a vehicle registration for a mobile home you must have the following items:
  • A registration renewal notice or previously issued registration. (Note: If these are not available the tag number, title number or vehicle identification number may provide enough information.)
Back To Page Navigator



Registration Renewal

Click here to make an Online Payment

Florida law requires mobile home decals and registrations to be renewed before they expire. Florida mobile home registrations and decals expire on December 31st.

To renew, the following items are required:


  • Previous registration or registration renewal notice.
If you fail to renew your mobile home decal and registration before the 11th day of the month following its expiration, a penalty fee will be charged upon late renewal.  Also, it is a violation of the law to fail to display a current registration decal. Mobile homes that fail to properly display a current decal are subject to tangible personal property taxation. For more information, click here...

Please note that Florida law does not provide for vehicle registration renewal notices and failure to receive a renewal notice by mail does not relieve the vehicle owner of their responsibility to timely renew their vehicle registration and license plate.

The Tax Collector does, however, provide renewal notices as a courtesy to resident vehicle owners. The courtesy renewal notices are mailed approximately 3 weeks or more prior to the registration renewal deadline.

The cost of renewing your registration and decal varies according to the length of the mobile home.


Length Full Year
Through 35' $31.85
36' - 40' $36.85
41' - 45' $41.85
46' - 50' $46.85
51' - 55' $51.85
56' - 60' $56.85
61' - 65' $61.85
Over 65' $91.85

Vehicle registration and decal renewals may be conducted at one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

Renewal payment transactions may also be conducted on this web site.

Back To Page Navigator



Transfer Of Ownership On A Florida Title

When seeking to transfer ownership of a mobile home in Florida you must bring the following to any one of the Tax Collector's Offices:

  • The Florida title properly completed by the seller; and,

  • A copy of the current registration to be transferred if applicable.
Also, each applicant must be present to sign the new application for title.

Note: Applicants may request a Fast Title for an additional $10. The title is provided by the Tax Collector's Office at the time of application. Fast Titles can be obtained at one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

Additionally, mobile home owners should review the Mobile Home Taxes web page for information on Sales Taxes and other taxes related to mobile homes.

Back To Page Navigator



Title Application On A New Mobile Home

If you have purchased a mobile home (new or used) from a Florida dealership, the dealer is required by law to process your application for title.

If you have purchased a new mobile home from an out-of-state dealership, you can process your application for title to one of the
Tax Collector's Offices.

Applications For Certificate Of Title may be obtained and completed prior to visiting one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

Click here to retrieve the Application For Certificate Of Title.

(Note: This form is made available through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.)

The following items are needed in addition to a completed Application For Certificate Of Title:
  • A manufacturers certificate of origin;

  • A bill of sale or invoice listing the purchase price, sales tax paid, and any trade-in allowance - please note additional sales tax may be due;

  • Any applicable lienholder information;

  • When transferring a decal from a previously owned mobile home, the current registration and decal number;

  • Also each applicant must sign the application. (If completing an application in our office, each person applying for ownership must be present to sign the title application.)
Back To Page Navigator



Title Application On An Out-Of-State Mobile Home

When seeking to register a mobile home that was previously titled out-of-state, an Application for Certificate Of Title must be completed and submitted to a Tax Collector's Branch/Tag Office. An Application for Title may be obtained and completed prior to visiting one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

Click here to retrieve the Application For Certificate Of Title.

(Note: This form is made available through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.)

The following items are also required:

  • The out-of-state title certificate in your name or assigned to you;

  • If your mobile home is financed - complete lienholder information - including account number, lienholder name and mailing address;

  • When transferring a decal, the current registration and decal number.

  • Each applicant must sign the application. (If completing an application in our office, each person applying for ownership must be present to sign the title application.)

  • Florida Use Tax may be due if the mobile home was purchased less than 6 months prior to importing the mobile home to Florida. Proof of any sales tax paid to another state will be required.

  • Also, the full 6% Florida Use Tax and any applicable local option tax is due on all vehicles imported from foreign countries.
Note: Applicants may request a Fast Title for an additional $10. The title is provided by the Tax Collector's Office at the time of application. Fast Titles can be obtained at one of the Tax Collector's Offices.

Back To Page Navigator


Telephone in Polk
1 (863) 534-4700
Long Distance/US Toll Free
1 (855) 765-5829
    Click here for DL Booklet Info
Click here to make online payment!
MAKE ONLINE PAYMENTS
Click One Of The Following...
License Plate/Decal Renewals
Driver License Renewals
Property Taxes
County Local Business Taxes
Hunting & Fishing Licenses
Click here to see credit card information...
Click here for credit card info...
Dates & Deadlines IMPORTANT DATES AND
PAYMENT DEADLINES
   Return To Top