MAIN MENU
E-SERVICES
  Make Online Payments
  Search Property Tax Records
  TaxTrack
  Buy Unsold Tax Certificates
  Search Business Tax Records
  Search Our Web Site
  File Download Requests
  Send Us Email
  Telephone Access
  Dealers Section
  Ver página en Español
FOLLOW US!
Tax Collector RSS feed
FEATURED LINKS
  Polk's Constitutional Officers
  Polk County Government
  Polk's Courts
  Polk's Municipalities
  Polk's Public Schools
  Polk's Library Cooperative
  Polk County Historical Society
  Polk Vision
  FloridaTaxCollectors.com
  MyFlorida.com
  USA.gov

MOTOR VEHICLES
Page Navigator
Sales Taxes
Vehicle Registration Taxes
Real Property Taxes
Tangible Personal Property Taxes
Mobile Home Buyer & Seller
TAXES THAT APPLY TO MOBILE HOMES

What To Know About Mobile Home Taxes!

Sales Taxes

WHAT SHOULD MOBILE HOME OWNERS KNOW ABOUT SALES TAXES?

When a mobile home is purchased in Florida, the new owner is responsible for paying the state sales tax (6%) and any applicable local option sales tax due (1% not to exceed $50).

Licensed dealers selling mobile homes must collect and remit sales taxes to the Florida Department of Revenue (DOR).

Individuals buying mobile homes from anyone other than a licensed dealer are required to remit the sales taxes due to the Tax Collector’s Office when they transfer the title on the mobile home.

Mobile homes assessed as Real Property (RP) and sold with the land are exempt from paying sales taxes when transfering a mobile home title.


Back To Page Navigator



Vehicle Registration Taxes

WHAT SHOULD MOBILE HOME OWNERS KNOW ABOUT REGISTRATION TAXES?

A mobile home is subject to vehicle registration taxes when the owner of the mobile home does not own the land upon which it is placed or affixed.

Like automobiles, mobile homes are registered through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) by way of the local Tax Collector’s Office.

Registration taxes are paid on a calendar year basis and are required for each mobile home unit. Examples:


  • Single-wide = one registration
  • Double-wide = two registrations
  • Triple-wide = three registrations
Annual mobile home registrations expire on December 31st.

Mobile home owners should receive their new registration(s) and Mobile Home (MH) decal(s) each year upon payment of their registration taxes.

As a courtesy, renewal notices are mailed at least 60 days prior to expiration according to DHSMV records. Due to address changes, ownership changes, or other reasons, the owner may not receive a renewal notice.

Florida law makes the owner responsible for renewing on time regardless of whether or not they receive a notice.

By law, MH decals are to be displayed in the lower left corner of the mobile home window closest to the main road.


“MH” WARNING
  • Substantial annual tangible personal property tax assessments may be applied to mobile homes for a failure to timely renew the mobile home registration and MH decal and/or failing to properly display the current MH decal.

  • A failure to renew the mobile home registration may result in the mobile home owner receiving a uniform traffic citation.

“If you do not receive your Mobile Home Registration renewal notice(s) before December, please contact the Tax Collector’s Office!”

Back To Page Navigator



Real Property Taxes

WHAT SHOULD MOBILE HOME OWNERS KNOW ABOUT REAL ESTATE PROPERTY TAXES?

A mobile home is taxed as real property when the owner of the home is also the owner of the land upon which the unit is placed or affixed.

In such cases, the mobile home owner is required to obtain a Declaration of Real Property (RP) from the Property Appraiser’s Office. Next, the mobile home owner is to present their Declaration to the Tax Collector’s Office and purchase an RP decal for their mobile home.

Once the RP decal is purchased it does not need to be renewed annually. The RP decal must be properly displayed in the lower left corner of the mobile home window closest to the main road to avoid billing errors and/or higher property tax bills.

The cost of the RP decal is $8.35. The home may then qualify for homestead exemption. Homestead exemptions are sought by Florida residents through the Property Appraiser’s Office.

Failure to obtain an RP decal may result in substantial back assessments, taxes due, as well as penalties and interest.

If a mobile home is moved or sold separately from the land, the RP decal must be removed and turned in to the Tax Collector’s Office.

When the mobile home and land are sold together, the new owner is required to transfer the RP decal in their name.

Current real estate property taxes are due and payable beginning November 1st and become delinquent on April 1st of the year following assessment.

Mobile home owners with RP decals should receive a real estate property tax notice no later than November 15th each year. Due to address changes, ownership changes, or other reasons, the owner may not receive a real estate property tax notice.

Florida law makes the owner responsible for paying their real estate property taxes on time regardless of whether or not they receive a notice.


“RP” WARNING
  • Failure to pay real estate property taxes will result in delinquent penalties, including interest, and the possible loss of property.

Note: Annual real estate property taxes that amount to less than $5 are not billed nor due.

“If you do not receive your Real Estate Property Tax notice(s) by November 15th, please contact the Tax Collector’s Office!”

Back To Page Navigator



Tangible Personal Property Taxes

WHAT SHOULD MOBILE HOME OWNERS KNOW ABOUT TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY TAXES?

For mobile home owners who are required to register their mobile homes and obtain MH decals, improvements are taxed as tangible personal property: Improvements include but are not limited to: Screened enclosures; car, boat and motor home ports; awnings; skirting; air conditioners; sheds; utility structures; and, decking, etc.

Mobile home owners with RP decals are subject to be taxed on those same improvements; however those same items are factored into their Real Estate Property Tax assessment and notice.

Mobile home owners who fail to do the following are also subject to a tangible personal property tax on the entire mobile home:


  • Properly register the mobile home
  • Renew the annual mobile home registration and MH decal
  • Fail to appropriately display a current MH decal
Current tangible personal property taxes are due and payable beginning November 1st and become delinquent on April 1st of the year following assessment.

Mobile home owners subject to the tangible personal property tax should receive their tangible tax notice no later than November 15th each year.


TANGIBLE WARNING
  • Failure to pay tangible personal property taxes will result in warrants being filed, delinquent penalties, collection costs, and the possible loss of property.

  • State law makes the owner responsible for paying their tangible personal property taxes on time regardless of whether or not they receive a notice.

Note: Annual tangible personal property taxes that amount to less than $5 are not billed nor due.

"If you do not receive your Tangible Personal Property Tax notice(s) by November 15th, please contact the Tax Collector’s Office!"

Back To Page Navigator



Mobile Home Buyer & Seller

WHAT SHOULD MOBILE HOME BUYERS KNOW?

Anyone who considers buying a mobile home should request the seller to provide proof of their current vehicle registration(s) and MH decal(s) or an RP decal as well as evidence that any and all previous real estate and/or tangible personal property taxes have been paid.

If this information is not available from a seller, a potential buyer should contact the Property Appraiser’s Office with the current address of the mobile home(s) (including park name and lot number when applicable) and request any tax assessment accounts associated with the mobile home(s).

Once the applicable mobile home(s) tax assessment accounts or folio numbers are obtained, the potential buyer should contact the Tax Collector’s Office and inquire about any outstanding delinquent taxes associated with those accounts.

Immediately upon purchasing a mobile home, the title must be transferred into the new owner’s name. Title transfers are done at the Tax Collector’s Office.


BUYER WARNING,
  • When purchasing a mobile home, the buyer assumes responsibility for any unpaid current or delinquent real estate and/or tangible personal property taxes.

SELLER WARNING
  • Pursuant to F.S. 319.34, a seller who fails to transfer a mobile home title to the buyer can be fined as much as $500 and/or be imprisoned for not more than 6 months.

“If you do not receive your Real Estate Property Tax notice(s) by November 15th, please contact the Tax Collector’s Office!”

Back To Page Navigator


Telephone in Polk
1 (863) 534-4700
Long Distance/US Toll Free
1 (855) 765-5829
    Click here for DL Booklet Info
Click here to make online payment!
MAKE ONLINE PAYMENTS
Click One Of The Following...
License Plate/Decal Renewals
Driver License Renewals
Property Taxes
County Local Business Taxes
Hunting & Fishing Licenses
Click here to see credit card information...
Click here for credit card info...
Dates & Deadlines IMPORTANT DATES AND
PAYMENT DEADLINES
   Return To Top