Teen Drivers Information
All of the following requirements must be met in order to obtain a Learner's Driver License:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Complete the DHSMV-approved Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course.
- Be in compliance with school attendance. The Florida Legislature enacted requirements (Section 322.091, F.S.) that students who accumulate 15 unexcused absences, in a period of 90 calendar days are ineligible to receive or maintain driving privileges.
- Pass the Written Test either through a Driver's Education course or at a Tax Collector Service Center. In-office written tests are limited to one time per day. These written tests will be offered by appointment only. CLICK HERE to make an appointment.
- Pass a vision test. This test is administered by the Tax Collector's Office at the time you take your Written Test.
- Provide one Primary Form of Identification (original or certified copy) from the list below:
- Certified U.S. birth certificate
- Valid U.S. passport or passport card.
- Consular Report or Birth Abroad
- Certificate of Nationalization
- Certificate of Citizenship
- Provide proof of social security number from one of the list below:
If you do not have a Social Security Number, CLICK HERE.
- Social Security card
- W-2 form(not handwritten)
- Paycheck stub
- Or any 1099 (not handwritten)
- Provide 2 documents showing proof of residential address, showing your full name. A completed Certification of Address Form may be used by the learner in lieu of providing 2 proofs of residential address. Click here to download.
- Have one parent or legal guardian present or have their signature on the Parental Consent Form (if under the age of 18). Click here to download.
- Learner's Driver License costs $54.25.
- Written Exam Retake Fee - $26.25
For additional information for parents and teens, click here.
Time to Practice
Learner's License Restrictions:
The State of Florida has a graduated licensing program
for teen drivers that establishes age related restrictions
and privileges. Driving is permitted, however you must
be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21
years old and must occupy the front passenger seat.
Such restrictions and privileges outline under what
circumstances, including the time of day a teen may
operate a motor vehicle on Florida's roadways:
- Must have an accompanying licensed driver.
- Accompanying driver must hold a valid driver license.
- Accompanying driver must be at least 21 years of age.
- Accompanying driver must occupy the closest seat to the right of the driver.
- May operate a vehicle only during daylight hours, after three months the holder of the learner's license may operate a vehicle until 10:00 p.m.
- Drivers with a Learner's license are not allowed to operate motorcycles, mopeds, or go-peds.
Intermediate Class E License
All of the following requirements must be met in order to obtain an Intermediate Driver License.
- You must be at least 16 years old AND have held a Learner's License for at least one year.
- You may not have any traffic convictions.
- You must pass a Road Test.
Road Tests are administered by appointment only. Click on a link below for appointment options.
For additional convenience, in addition to regular business hours, Atlantic Driving School provides road tests after 5 P.M. and on Saturdays. Atlantic Driving School also provides pick-up and delivery of road test candidates.
State of Florida Approved Providers
Tax Collector for Polk County
Once you have successfully passed your Road Test, you will need to visit a Tax Collector Service Center, bringing in the documentation and fees shown in the DOCUMENTATION AND FEES box. You will then be issued an Intermediate Class E License. Click here for location availability.
Documentation and Fees:
The following is needed in order to be issued a Class E Intermediate Driver License
- Pass the Road Test
- Certification of Driving Experience
A Certification of Driving Experience is required if the candidate is 17 years old or younger. A parent, guardian, or other responsible adult 21 years old or older must be present with their identification to certify you have had 50 hours (10 nighttime & 40 daytime) of driving experience. If this person cannot be present for whatever reason, they must complete the items listed below for you to bring to the Tax Collector’s Office to get your license.
Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor - Form 71143
Notice and Consent for Road Test Video/Audio Recording
- The fees for an Intermediate Class E License is as follows:
- Upgrade to Class E - Learner's Permit on hand - $6.26
- Upgrade to Class E - Learner's Permit Lost or not available - $31.25
- Upgrade to Class E - Learner's Permit on hand - Address or Name Change - $31.25
- Upgrade to Class E - Learner's Permit Stolen with Police Report - No Changes - $6.25
- Upgrade to Class E - Learner's Permit Stolen with Police Report - Address or Name Change - $31.25
- If your license record is INVALID, you will have to resolve the issue before being issued your Driver License. CLICK HERE for more information.
Full Privilege License
Once you obtain a Class E Intermediate Driver License, your driving privileges are based on your age.
16 years old Driving is allowed between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. without a licensed adult (all other times must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old occupying the closest seat to the right of the driver, or be traveling to or from work).
17 years old Driving allowed between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m. without a licensed adult(all other times must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old occupying the closest seat to the right of the driver, or be traveling to or from work).
18 years old Driving is allowed at all hours.
When a teen turns 18 and has passed the Class E Intermediate License requirements, restrictions are removed from their license. They then have full license privileges.
To review the graduated licensing program for teen drivers provided on the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, website, including age related restrictions and privileges, CLICK HERE.
RECAP OF FEES:
All fees include a $6.25 Tax Collector Service Fee.
- Learner’s License - $54.25
- Written Exam Retake fee - $16.25
- Road Text Exam Retake fee - $16.25
- Issue of Regular License (Class E) – With Surrender of Learner's License - $6.25
- Issue of Regular License (Class E) – Without Surrender of Learner's License - $31.25
- Issue of Regular License (Class E) – With any Address or Name Change - $31.25
- Issue of Regular License (Class E) – With Law Enforcement Report on Stolen Learner’s License - $6.25
Be careful and have fun!
Now that you have your license your first thought will be to snap a pic of it and put it on Twitter, Facebook, or Snapchat it.
If you upload a picture of your full driver’s license on the web, it allows others to have access to your information.
If you take a picture holding your new license, make sure to place your finger over your personal information & license number.
Or, you can also use our DL Cut Out to post your wonderful news on your favorite social media sight, like this:
Florida Drivers Guide for Teens and Parents
(abbreviated guide with driving log and skills mastery)
Florida Youth Driving Monitoring Service
Foundation - This non-profit organization supports teen driver safety initiatives and the website is constantly updated with driver safety information.
Driving & Youth Employment Provisions
Parent Access to Minor's Driving Record
Teen Driver Challenge
The American Automobile Association site offers information about learning and teaching safe driving, selecting a car for a teen driver, GDL, stats and much more, including lots of links.
Alive at 25
Alive at 25 is a survival course developed by the National Safety Council to prevent traffic fatalities, collisions and violations. Their sites has facts about teen driving and links to other relevant organizations as well as information about their own program.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Extensive research and statistics about safe driving.
National Safety Council
The Parent's Supervised Driving Program
is a resource for parents to utilize when teaching their teen to drive. To learn more, click here
Driving Records for Minors
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has expanded its internet
services to allow parental access to a minor's driving history.
The Jeffrey Klapatch Act went into effect Jan. 1, 2007 - the legacy of a Lakeland
teenager who died tragically in 2005. The new law provides a system that allows
either parent of a minor, a guardian, or other responsible adult who signed a minor's
application for a driver's license, to have internet access to inspect the minor's
driver history record.
If you are a parent or guardian, you may access the driving history of your minor
child by clicking here.
You will need to enter the driver license number, the last four digits of the minor's
Social Security number, and the minor's date of birth.