LEARNER’S LICENSE: HOW TO QUALIFY
All of the following requirements must be met in order to obtain a Learner’s Driver License:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Complete the FLHSMV approved Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course.
- Be in compliance with school attendance. Students who accumulate 15 unexcused absences, in a period of 90 calendar days are ineligible to receive or maintain driving privileges (Florida Statutes, Section 322.091).
- Pass the Written Exam (Knowledge Exam) either through an approved Driver’s Education online course or at a Tax Collector’s Service Center. To access a Written Exam through an approved online Driver’s Education course, click here. A written exam at a Tax Collector’s Service Center is limited to one time per day and is offered by appointment only (click here to make an appointment).
- Pass a Vision Test. This test is administered by the Tax Collector’s Office at the time of a Written Exam.
- Provide one Primary Form of Identification (original or certified copy) from the list below:
- Certified U.S. birth certificate
- Valid U.S. passport or passport card.
- Consular Report or Birth Abroad
- Certificate of Nationalization
- Certificate of Citizenship
- Provide proof of social security number from one of the list below:
- Social Security card
- W-2 form (not handwritten)
- Paycheck stub
- Or any 1099 (not handwritten)
- If you do not have a Social Security Number, click here.
- Provide 2 documents showing proof of residential address, showing your full name. A completed Certification of Address Form may be used by the learner in lieu of providing 2 proofs of residential address. click here to download.
- Have one parent or legal guardian present or have their signature on the Parental Consent Form (if under the age of 18). Step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted the minor child (click here to download).
- Learner’s Driver License costs $54.25.
- Written Exam Retake Fee – $16.25
For additional information for parents and teens, click here.
LEARNER’S LICENSE RESTRICTIONS
Florida has a graduated licensing program for teen drivers that establishes age related restrictions and privileges. Driving is permitted, however you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and must occupy the front passenger seat. Such restrictions and privileges outline under what circumstances, including the time of day a teen may operate a motor vehicle on Florida’s roadways:
- Must have an accompanying licensed driver.
- Accompanying driver must occupy the closest seat to the right of the driver.
- May operate a vehicle only during daylight hours, after three months the holder of the learner’s license may operate a vehicle until 10:00 p.m.
- Drivers with a Learner’s license are not allowed to operate motorcycles, mopeds, or go-peds.
All of the following requirements must be met in order to obtain a Driver License.
- Candidate must be at least 16 years old AND have held a Learner’s License for at least one year.
- Candidate may not have any traffic convictions.
- Candidate must pass a Road Test (Driving Skills Exam).
- A Certification of Driving Experience is required if the candidate is 17 years old or younger. A parent, guardian, or other responsible adult 21 years old or older must be present with their identification to certify you have had 50 hours (10 nighttime & 40 daytime) of driving experience. If this person cannot be present, they must complete the items listed below and the candidate must bring to the Tax Collector’s Service Centers to obtain a driver license license:
- https://appointments.polktaxes.com/Forms/NoticeandConsent.pdf – Primary form of Identification, proof of Social Security, and proof of Residential Address (see Learner’s License checklist above)
Road Tests are administered by appointment only. Click on a link below for appointment options.
- Polk County Approved Driving Skills Exam Provider: Atlantic Driving School, 905 6th Street NW, Winter Haven, FL 33881. For additional convenience, in addition to regular business hours, Atlantic Driving School provides road tests after 5 P.M. and on Saturdays.
- Polk County Approved Driving Skills Exam Provider: All Class Drivers, 2219 W. Memorial Blvd., Lakeland, FL 33815.
- To see other Driving Skills Providers approved elsewhere in Florida, click here.
- Tax Collector for Polk County (For those needing a translator in order to take a road test, we recommend they bring a translator to our office in order to provide accurate and faster service.)
Once you have successfully passed your Road Test, you will need to visit a Tax Collector service center, with your Certification of Driving Experience and other required documents listed above and pay the appropriate fee for your situation (see FEES section below). You will then be issued Driver License. (For an appointment, click here.)
The fees to upgrade from a Learner’s Driver License to a Class E Driver License is as follows:
- Upgrade with a Learner’s Driver License on hand – $6.25
- Upgrade with a lost or unavailable Learner’s License – $31.25
- Upgrade with a Learner’s License on hand and with an Address or Name Change – $31.25
- Upgrade when a Learner’s License has been Stolen and accompanied by a Police Report (No Changes) – $6.25
- Upgrade when a Learner’s License has been Stolen, accompanied by a Police Report, and has an Address or Name Change – $31.25
FULL DRIVING PRIVILEGES
To review the graduated licensing program for teen drivers provided on the FLHSMV’s website, including age-related restrictions and privileges, click here.
DRIVING RECORDS FOR MINORS
The FLHSMV has expanded its internet services to allow parental access to a minor’s driving history. The law provides a system which allows either parent of a minor, a guardian, or another responsible adult who signed a minor’s application for a driver’s license, to have internet access to inspect the minor’s driver history record. A parent or guardian, may access the driving history of said minor child, just click here. Those seeking access will need to enter the minor’s driver license number, the last four digits of the minor’s Social Security number, and the minor’s date of birth.
Dori Slosberg Foundation – This non-profit organization supports teen driver safety initiatives and the website is constantly updated with driver safety information.
Driving & Youth Employment Provisions – General information is available concerning the application of the federal youth employment provisions to the driving of motor vehicles.
Teen Driver Challenge – The Florida Sheriffs Association’s Teen Driver Challenge addresses teen driver speeding, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, texting while driving, and distracted driving.
AAA – The American Automobile Association site offers information about learning and teaching safe driving, selecting a car for a teen driver, GDL, stats and much more, including lots of links.
Alive at 25 – Alive at 25 is a survival course developed by the National Safety Council to prevent traffic fatalities, collisions and violations. Their sites has facts about teen driving and links to other relevant organizations as well as information about their own program.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration – Extensive research and statistics about safe driving.
National Safety Council Parent’s Supervised Driving Program – The Parent’s Supervised Driving Program is a resource for parents to utilize when teaching their teen to drive.