The Tax Collector’s Office for Polk County thanks our veterans for their service in our nation’s military! Veterans, when visiting a Tax Collector’s Service Center, be sure to ask for your flag pin!
The Tax Collector’s Office facilitates many types of transactions that benefit veterans. To learn more about these transactions, please click on the following links:
Motor Vehicle Discounts & Specialty Plates
$225 Initial Registration Fee Exemption For Original Plates – This fee can be waived when the former member, spouse, or dependent was a resident of Florida at the time of enlistment and discharge and continue to be a resident of Florida. The application for registration must be made within 6 months after discharge. You must submit a copy of your Discharge Order (DD214) and Florida driver license. DHSMV form #82002 is required.
Military and Military Support License Plates (specific criteria needed) – These license plates are issued to individuals who meet certain criteria. For example, to be eligible for a Medal of Honor license plate, the individual must submit proof from the U.S. Government that they were awarded the Medal of Honor. To review the criteria for each plate, click here.
All special service-connected license plates, excluding those listed below (*), are available at your local Tax Collector’s Office. To view all military license plates, please visit the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle, click here.
*Medal of Honor, Silver Star, Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross, Air Force Cross, Distinguished Flying Cross, and World War II Veteran applications and renewals must be sent to:
Division of Motorist Services
Neil Kirkman Building
Direct Mail MS72
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0500
Military license plates can be issued for use only on the following type vehicles:
Automobile (Private or Lease)
- Lightweight trucks for private use
- Motor home or truck camper which are not “for hire” or “commercial” use
- Heavy trucks with a net weight of 7,999 lbs. or less
Other Military Specialty Plates (no requirements) – The State of Florida currently offers various specialty license plates supporting the military. To view these plates, click here.
Note: Military Specialty License plates are eligible for personalization.
“V” Designations on Driver Licenses & ID Cards
Veterans who live in Florida can add a veteran designation or “V” their driver license or ID card. To add the “V” to a license or ID card, veterans should make an appointment to visit a Tax Collector’s Service Center. Veterans seeking a “V” designation should be prepared to present their DD-214, which shows their honorable discharge from active duty military. Also, to ensure that Veterans have all the other required documentation they need, click here. Additionally, veterans who need to obtain a copy of their DD-214 may request it through the National Archives.
|Original, Renewal, or Replacement with the “V” Designation||$6.25|
Benefits for 100% Disabled Veterans
Under Section 322.21, Florida Statute, veterans with a 100% service-connected disability are eligible for a no-fee driver license, with endorsements, or an identification card. The same veterans are also entitled to a no-fee veteran designation on their driver’s license or ID card. The “V” designation can be used to show proof of status for discounts at participating merchants. Qualified veterans should provide a valid identification card from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, indicating the 100%, total, and permanent service-connected disability rating.
Under Section 320.084, Florida Statute, 100% disabled veterans are eligible for a “DV” license plate at no charge to the applicant.
Under Section 316.1964(8), the disabled veterans with a “DV” license plate are exempt from paying parking fees statewide. Any vehicle displaying a Disabled Veteran, Disabled Veteran Wheelchair, Paralyzed Veterans of America, International Wheelchair Suffix, or Motorcycle Wheelchair emblem license plate can park in spaces designated for handicapped parking and are able to park free at metered or timed parking on public streets. If the meter is an on-street parking meter, you are allowed a 4 hour no charge duration.
100% Service-Connected Disabled Veteran Fees
One discounted Disabled Veteran or Disabled Veteran Wheelchair license plate can be issued to each disabled veteran with a 100% service-connected disability. Additional Disabled Veteran (DV) license plates may be issued by charging the regular registration tax and applicable fees.
A letter issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, the Veterans Administration Office, or a “Summary of Benefits” letter from any other state and city stating the veteran has a service-connected disability evaluated at 100%, accompanied by proof that:
- A vehicle was initially acquired through financial assistance by the US Department of Veterans Affairs or its predecessor specifically for the purchase of an automobile; or,
- The applicant has been determined by the US Department of Veterans Affairs or the predecessor to have a service-connected 100% disability rating for compensation. The applicant has been determined to have a service-connected disability rating of 100% and is in receipt of disability retirement pay from any branch of the US Armed Forces; or,
- The applicant has been determined to have a service-connected disability rating of 100% and is in receipt of disability retirement pay from any branch of the US Armed Forces.
|Registration Plate Renewal on one vehicle per year||$4.50|
Property Tax Exemptions
There are several Property Tax veteran related exemptions offered through the Polk County Property Appraiser’s Office. More information is available at polkpa.org.
Hunting & Fishing License Exemptions
Military/Disabled Veteran Event License Exemption Permit – This exemption applies to any outdoor recreational event permitted by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) and held for the rehabilitation or enjoyment of disabled veterans or active or reserve duty service members. Individual participants in such events will need to apply for the corresponding permit exemption through FWCC in order to participate. This exemption is limited to qualifying disabled veterans or active or reserve duty service members and their immediate family members and one person designated to assist each disabled veteran. This exemption only applies to the individual event and not hunting and fishing activities outside of the event. For more information, click here.
Resident Military Gold Sportsmans License – The FWC offers the Military Gold Sportsman’s License to active duty and retired members of the United States Armed Forces, the United States Armed Forces Reserve, the Florida National Guard, the United States Coast Guard or the United States Coast Guard Reserve that are stationed in Florida or claim Florida as their primary residence. For more information, click here.
County Local Business Tax Exemptions
An exemption is provided for a disabled veteran or an un-remarried widow(er) of a disabled veteran pursuant to the County Local Business Tax requirement. This exemption is available to sole proprietors (individuals) upon providing specified documentation of their personal identification and proof of an honorable discharge from the U.S. Armed Forces.
Additionally, those seeking a disabled war veteran exemption, should provide one of the following specified documents: A long-term disabled person parking placard; vehicle registration renewal notice indicating the issuance of a disabled person tag; documentation indicating a disabled person property tax exemption; disabled person hunting license; disabled person fishing license; and/or certification from a reputable physician stating that the applicant is disabled. For more information, please refer to the following information. Those seeking a widow(er) of a deceased disabled veteran exemption are required to demonstrate they are the un-remarried spouse of a deceased disabled veteran of any war in which the U.S. Armed forces participated.
Exemption Sought with an Original County Local Business Tax Receipt Account Application
To obtain the applicable exemption with the issuance of an original Polk County Local Business Tax Receipt, please provide the specified documentation with an original county Local Business Tax Account Application. Completed applications are mailed to the Tax Collector’s Office at the address indicated on the application. Those seeking a Polk County Local Business Tax Receipt may also visit a Tax Collector’s Office Service Center for assistance. For more information and to access the applicable County Local Business Tax Account Application Form form, click here.
If the exemption request is denied, the applicant will receive an explanation for the denial and further instructions on how to obtain a Local County Business Tax Receipt.
Exemption Sought from Current County Local Business Tax Receipt Holder
If the holder of a current Polk County Local Business Tax Receipt seeks to obtain the applicable exemption, they must provide a written request to the Tax Collector’s Office. This exemption is only available to sole proprietors (individuals) upon providing the specified documentation. Please include the Polk County Local Business Tax Account Number with this written request.
If the exemption is approved, the exemption will be applied for the following Polk County Local Business Tax Receipt tax year and every year thereafter until a status change is reported to the Tax Collector’s Office. If the exemption request is denied, the applicant will receive an explanation for the denial and further instructions on how to obtain a Local County Business Tax Receipt.
Note: These exemptions generally do not apply to those who sell intoxicating liquors, etc. or those who operate gaming devices. Also, the local county business tax receipt issued with an exemption will indicate exempt status and are not transferable.